Institute Structure

Board of Directors

Ute Frevert

Ralph Hertwig (Managing Director since July 2023)

Ulman Lindenberger

Iyad Rahwan

Scientific Advisory Board

List of members 2020–2022/23

Research Centers

Center for Adaptive Rationality
Director: Ralph Hertwig

Center for the History of Emotions
Director: Ute Frevert

Center for Humans and Machines
Director: Iyad Rahwan

Center for Lifespan Psychology
Director: Ulman Lindenberger

Lise Meitner Group

Lise Meitner Group for Environmental Neuroscience
Head: Simone Kühn

Emmy Noether Group

Lifespan Neural Dynamics Group (LNDG)
Head: Douglas Garrett

ERC-Funded Research Group

Adaptive Memory and Decision Making Group
Head: Bernhard Spitzer

Max Planck Research Groups

Biosocial | Biology, Social Disparities, and Development
Head: Laurel Raffington

iSearch | Information Search, Ecological and Active Learning Research with Children
Head: Azzurra Ruggeri

Naturalistic Social Cognition
Head: Annie E. Wertz

NeuroCode | Neural and Computational Basis of Learning, Memory and Decision Making
Head: Nicolas W. Schuck

Structured Graduate Education

International Max Planck Research School on the Life Course (LIFE)

International Max Planck Research School on Computational Methods in Psychiatry and Ageing Research (COMP2PSYCH)

Max Planck School of Cognition (MPSCog)

Max Planck Dahlem Campus of Cognition (MPDCC)

Core lab facilities

Open Space

Flexible office space

Service Units



Central IT Unit

Central Services

Library and Research Information Unit

Press and Public Relations

Scientific Service

Technical Services

Go to Editor View